Linux "power user"/kernel developer -- will I be happy with OS X?

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I'm considering switching to an LCD iMac running OS X, and am trying to figure out if I'll be happy, or if I'll feel "claustrophobic".

Some background: I'm a software developer, working on kernel code in embedded operating systems for networking devices. I used to run Linux on my machine at work (and at home), but I'm sick of spending my weekends as a sysadmin to get even the simplest of things to work. I don't like the alternative of running Windows -- I want an OS with a solid kernel, where errant apps don't step all over one another. I'm *very* comfortable with a command line -- my .bashrc is a couple hundred lines long.

I want a machine where the multimedia stuff "just works" (so when I don't want to diddle with stuff, I don't have to), but I also want the flexibility of having development tools. For example, I keep my web pages under CVS revision control. I generate them with a bunch of PERL scripts I've written. I write those scripts in emacs. I want the ability to write code in C++/C, and compile it on my machine.

1. I've checked out fink, but it looks like gcc and gdb aren't part of the distribution -- is that true?

2. OK, OK, so I'm now actually a manager of SW development, so I need to be able to run MS Office stuff -- will this work, i.e. if someone emails me an MS Project file, or a PPT presentation, can I edit it and return it to them?

3. How about keyboard shortcuts? At work, I use a Win2k machine, and have gotten pretty good at the "Alt-Tab" to switch between apps, or "Alt-Spacebar N" to iconify apps. Does OS X have similar shortcuts?

4. Can I plug in a mouse with more than 1 button? Will it be useful? I actually kinda like the way this is handled under Linux and Windows...