Can someone help me? Trackpad/Freeze Probs.

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Hi!

The first time I bought a macbook 2 yrs. ago, I was soooooo excited, and when I got home, it was like, this really cool moment ( I was a poor student, who had invested a lot of thought in the decision) and after charging it for a few minutes, I went to start it. NOTHING. No lights, flashes, beeps, burps, NOTHING. I took it back, and they reimbursed my cab fare for having to come back to the store (though I pretty much demanded it, since there was no possible way I screwed up the computer since I hadn't even started it!). Happy days until....

Fast forward a couple years.

My husband keeps annoying me, and I, him, over use of the computer, so we decided to get another, the new version (glass/aluminum) last night. I spent a few hours setting up my preferences, downloading programs, etc. I loved it. This morning I woke up early (On a Saturday? Unheard of!) to play with it. Sure as sh*t, it freezes on me. The cursor is over the apple, so by hitting return, I am able to select things from the menu, on a limited basis, but damn! The trackpad won't respond. I would very much like to take a ballpeen hammer to it and see if that does the trick.

I love macbooks, but what are the chances of getting TWO lemons. This makes me really sad. It was very expensive, Now it is going to be a weekend affair. (We go to the 5th Ave. store in NYC, which is a perpetual Gong Show). The apple people are very sweet, and always very helpful, but the inconvenience is wearisome.

OK so I ranted....HERE is my QUESTION. What can be done by using any of the toolbar options at the top of the opening screen, and with a keyboard. I can't "click" or "tap" anything, so I have to resort to arrow keys and the Return key.

ANY SUGGESTION?

Thank you for your consideration!

Kim

Comments

• Reply 1 of 1
    Well Guys, don't go crazy with the responses!