I need MAC-HEAD ADVICE!

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Ok here's the deal!

I bought a Core2Duo iMac - 2.66ghz, 20", 4gb ram, 500gb HD.

I got it in October.

Now I hear they might have quadcore iMacs in January!??!?!?!

How reliable is this info? Should I sell the thing now and eat the cost and buy a quadcore in January, or will the speed increase not be that significant?

I need REASONABLE advice from you guys because I know you're informed on this stuff.

THANKS!

Dan

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    bbwibbwi Posts: 812member
    How do you use your iMac?
  • Reply 2 of 11
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by bbwi View Post

How do you use your iMac?

I do record audio with Logic Pro since I'm a professional musician, but while I'm recording I'm usually only running instant messenger, skype and MAYBE firefox in the background....I know I might not NEED 4 cores, but I feel like snow leopard is geared toward that....what do you think? I do watch some HD movies and tv shows on quicktime as well.
  • Reply 3 of 11
    bbwibbwi Posts: 812member
    Rumors are rumors. If it were me I'd wait until Snow Leopard is actually released. It's hard to believe that Snow Leopard will make the Q1 '09 time frame since the last developer release wasn't feature complete. I might also wait for the next release of Logic as applications themselves need to be tuned to use multiple processors.
  • Reply 4 of 11
    The machine you bought is gonna handle everything you're throwing at it just as easily as a "new" quad core would.

Now, technically, the benchmarks would probably be better on the (unreleased) new quadcores, but you wouldn't notice it day-to-day with what you proposed. Now... if you get into VIDEO editing... well... by the time you get there, the 80-core chips will be "almost" available
  • Reply 5 of 11