Anyone still using the PB Ti 15"???

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I am.

I've been using it for the last 5 years, it still works.

But lately, it's been crashing here and there and it looks like it's beginning to slow down.

So, what should I get to replace it?

That is, if I had the money to replace it, what would I get?

Just looking for suggestion or what other people have experienced when deciding on what to get.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    I have a 15" TiBook 867mz purchased in November 2002 that I'm still using as a second computer for things like email, simple PhotoShop, FileMaker, Word and Excel. It's been rock solid with nary a problem. Lately, now that MacBook Pros are bring discounted, I've thought about replacing it but it still does all that I need from a second computer. It's hooked to a 20" flat panel for dual screen use.

As to what to get to replace your TiBook, you'll have to decide whether you need a lap top or would an iMac do. If you need a lap top then decided whether a MacBook would work for you or do you needed the added features of the MacBook Pro. Ultimate, you'll have to balance what you want with what you can afford.
  • Reply 2 of 4
    regreg Posts: 832member
    I stopped using my G4 500 back in 2005 when the 17" 1.67 came out. I had problems with the 500 after the hard drive would get too full. I upgraded the hard drive twice. The first was a 7200 drive that got way too hot and caused many crashes. I found that keeping it less than 80% with a 5400 drive kept everything working great.

As for what to upgrade to is the old debate about desktops or laptops. Either way you go will be a huge improvement from what you have now. My kids seldom use our desktops any more. They prefer laptops which I think most people also do. Since you are using an old TI, the MacBook would do all you need and more.
  • Reply 3 of 4