Termnial Commands

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I am extremely new to the CLI.... what can a newbie do with it? I'd like to know things like how to tell my uptime and other kinds of system info that I can only get through the terminal...

If I dont know what I am doing, how badly can i screw up my computer by playing with the Terminal? I'm sure I will ahve more questions later, but lets start with these

thanks for the help...

-Paul

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    first off, you're probably using tcsh [the default shell for osx]. so if you want to know everything, try `man tcsh`. that'll give you the manual. and you should read the manual cuz theres lots of questoins answered there. you can do that for a lot of commands (`man <command name>`). to get uptime, simply type `uptime`. to change directories, `cd [dir name]`. doing `cd` without a dir name, will send you to your home (/Users/<yourname>/).

there is a danger on the cli, if you use `sudo` and `su`. if you do `sudo <other command>` then <other command> gets executed as root (after you type in your password). so that program will have full access over your comp. if you do `sudo rm -rf /`, you've empited your hard drive. (rm is remove, -r means recursive, and f means dont ask for permission). if you do `su` or `sudo -s` everything you do after that (until you `exit`) will be executed as root. you can tell that `su` or `sudo -s` is on because the prompt ends in a hash (#), instead of a percent (%). becareful with su and sudo, and only use them when necessary.
  • Reply 2 of 4
    If you don't use sudo or su, you probably can't do anything too harmful as you won't have permission to delete important system files or anything like that.
  • Reply 3 of 4
    nevynnevyn Posts: 360member
    The command 'man' is your friend. It is a daunting help system, but there's a lot of information on near everything. Make a _big_ terminal window then do:

The command:

man man