Unmounting Your Hard Drive In OS X

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I used a program (I can't remember the name) that makes a boot CD for OS X and during the process of creating the boot cd it asked to add the applications you desire to use on the boot cd. All went well and it boots fine except for the fact that it takes forever.

Anyway getting to the problem...

When using Disk Utility or even Drive 10 I am unable to unmout the hard drive.(while booted off the cd) In Disk Utility if I try to erase the drive it starts to but just stops and acts as if nothing happened. Drive 10 gives an error that the drive is unable to be unmounted.

I'm on a new iBook with 10.2.1 if that will assist you.

I wish someone can help me with this problem as I am new to OS X. I had an original bondi iMac but i sold it many years ago. Thanks for your help...

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    noahjnoahj Posts: 4,503member
    This sounds like a genius bar post to me. Finding out the name of the app that created the CD would likely help a lot.
  • Reply 2 of 4
    I used Charles' BootCD utility if it will assist you at all.

I'm not an idiot I just have only been using OS X for less than a month. I do enjoy it much more than OS 9 however. I also have a problem with certian web sites when trying to load them. IE will just sit and hang for a few mins before loading them. I then switched to Netscape and it solved the problem or so I thought. Anyway after a few days Netscape started the same problem. BTW its not the internet connection I don't think.(ATT cable modem)If I go to say <a href="http://www.apple.com"; target="_blank">www.apple.com</a> and hit refresh it works fine so I leave it to you for some help...
  • Reply 3 of 4
    der kopfder kopf Posts: 2,275member
    [quote]Originally posted by HoTT RoDeR 26: