uninstall programs

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I am new to mac os x. I wanted to get rid of some programs i installed so I dragged the program folder to the trash can. But today I realized that you can uninstall them by using the installer. is there away I can get these programs back so i can uninstall them correctly?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    [quote]Originally posted by Mac Man 020581:

<strong>But today I realized that you can uninstall them by using the installer.</strong><hr></blockquote>Are you sure? What programs are you referring to?

99% of the software on Mac OS and Mac OS X is uninstalled by a simple drag-and-drop into the Trash. In fact, the *only* software I can think of off the top of my head that actually requires an uninstaller is Maya.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    I installed Nikon View 5 for my digital camera and the software installed all of these compoments in Display section in the System Prefs under Display Profile: Nikon Adobe RGB 4.0.0.3000 and then there are 9 others that all start with Nikon. I want these gone(right?), they are slowing up the start up, I don't need them, since I uninstalled View 5 and am using iPhoto.

[ 11-27-2002: Message edited by: Mac Man 020581 ]</p>
  • Reply 3 of 7
    is there a way to remove things from the Display Profile.
  • Reply 4 of 7
    der kopfder kopf Posts: 2,275member
    You can remove anything.

First thing you can try: select the file you want to delete, do 'get info', then open 'owner & permissions' tab, and there you should make yourself responsible for read & write. Then try to trash it.

If not, open Terminal.app, type 'sudo rm ' (without quotes) and then drag the file on the terminal window.

It will ask you for a password and it will be deleted. (if you are an admin of your comp).
  • Reply 5 of 7
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    If you want to 'get the program back' so you can be sure it uninstalls correctly, why not just re-run the installer, then uninstall? Seems simplest.