Removing the programs I never use

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I'm new to Mac, and I am trying to remove all the programs that I will never use and the trial versions that came with my MacBook. Is there a Apple version of "Add and Remove Programs" like the Windows does, and sort it by 'Last Used'. Also, in your history with Apple, is there any programs that you would recommend myself removing because you've never used them. I don' t know 100% what exactly everything is on my MacBook. Basically what I'm trying to do, is maximize all the 'Used' disk space to be true space, and not wasted Hard Drive on something I would never use. Thank you.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    irelandireland Posts: 17,798member
    You can grab all the files and drag them into the trash, it works, but if you'd rather do uninstalling quickly, use AppZapper. Sure it's probably not worth $13, but you'll use the shit out of it, so you'll get values worth in the end. Try the demo, I think you get 8 goes with the demo or something.
  • Reply 2 of 13
    rokrok Posts: 3,519member
    yep, i like appzapper too because, yes, you COULD find all of the .plist files and such associated with an app with a little work, but would you want to? now, technically, you can toss any app and just not care if you happen to catch all of its associated preference files and the like. they'll just sit there, not taking up too much room, and never really doing anything because you've cut off the head of the app by removing the main piece. but if you're a neatnik like me, appzapper is pretty nice. occasionally, it's available with a free license (like earlier this year), but if you're also a "download every beta just to see how it works... oh crap, look at all of this stuff left behind," it pays for itself quickly.
  • Reply 3 of 13
    nofeernofeer Posts: 2,427member