Macbook vs Pro: Portability Advice

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi there,

I am a PC-going-Mac user and could really use some advice from all of you macbook owners! I have searched google, read/search forums, and talked to PC-notebook friends for advice. But no place have I found first-hand experience answers.

I am a student (becoming graduate studies student) and plan to be taking the macbook with me almost everywhere I go. There is a good chance I wouldn't have a special laptop bag unless I end up purchasing one. I will either use my messenger bag or buy a backpack.

I am leaning towards the Macbook Pro 15" because in my studies the dedicated graphics will come in handy. However, if the macbook is large enough to discourage me from taking it to University each day, then I may as well get the smaller Macbook (and use campus or my home desktop (PC) to do the 3D work as it arises).

So to all of the 15" macbook Pro users out there....
  1. At the end of each day, how heavy does your macbook feel?

2. Did you have to buy a special bag (I have textbooks too)?

3. Would the 2" 0.4lbs lighten my world all that much?

4. Is the adapter for the Pro much heavier/bulker than the non-Pro?

I appreciate any advice. I really can't wait to get ahold of OS X and begin some development work!

(this decision would be made if there was a 12" 4lbs offering :P)

Thank you so much,

Michael

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by subakt

So to all of the 15" macbook Pro users out there....
    1. At the end of each day, how heavy does your macbook feel?

2. Did you have to buy a special bag (I have textbooks too)?

3. Would the 2" 0.4lbs lighten my world all that much?

4. Is the adapter for the Pro much heavier/bulker than the non-Pro?

First I'm not a student anymore, so consider that with my responses. Hope they're helpful.