Integrating existing web pages into iWeb

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I have a small business and I have been using Yahoo SiteBuilder to create and maintain my website on my PC. However, they don't currently have a Mac version (they say they are working on it) and so I presume I will need to import my existing website files into iWeb. Can I expect this to be a smooth transition? Is it even possible? If so, any tips?

If it's not possible to integrate my exiting site files into iWeb, what are my options without having to totally redo my site? I am a beginner at web pages - which is why I used SiteBuilder (and a template) in the first place. Nor do I want to spend big $$ to buy a web designing program right now, so I'm really hoping iWeb will work.

I still want to keep using Yahoo hosting for my domain - I can do that right?

Thanks!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    Anyone? (Bueller?)
  • Reply 2 of 7
    I'm sorry to have to be the one to tell you this - but you can't import html or web pages into iweb. It's a little 'flaw' they have - and maybe if we cross our fingers and toes they'll have an update to iweb be announced in a few weeks that takes care of this problem - but it's not a gaurantee. So - in order to use iweb - you'll have to start from scratch. Sorry! I would say though that it sounds like that would be your best option out of all the options you mentioned. Give it a try - designing a site in iweb isn't too difficult - and it may prove to actually be better than yahoo.
  • Reply 3 of 7
    I wouldn't bet on iWeb Pro anytime soon, probably just an extension of the themes and some slight usability improvements. Don't expect a pro tool set from iWeb. \
  • Reply 4 of 7
    I found out later that iweb will only support .mac addresses. So, I can't go that route unless I build from scratch because all of my promotional items have my .com address on it.