Does a mac ever crash or is that a pc thing?

Comments

• Reply 21 of 42
    nerudaneruda Posts: 439member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by 100mph View Post

Don't know … I am new to Mac.

Tonight will be searching for information on how to strip down unneeded services (if any) and 'genie effects'.

System preferences>Dock (change genie effect to scale).

System preferences>Appearence

There are tons of third party programs to modify Aqua. Google it.

http://www.almaer.com/blog/archives/001229.html

In the two plus years running OS X, the system has frozen on me only once. If it were not for the need to restart after updates, my uptime would be close to two years.
  • Reply 22 of 42
    I'm a recent convert to Mac, but I've been using Windows in one form or another since 3.0, and in my experience Windows 2000 Pro is the most stable operating system the folks at Gates & Co. have ever managed to produce. Something is definitely wrong with the driver you're using. You need to go into Device Manager and see if there's a conflict with the driver you're trying to install. Even if you're going to give this box to the kids, I would see if I couldn't solve the driver issue first. The best thing would be, before you give it to the kids is to do a fresh install on Win 2000 if you have the CD.

Windows user always tout how wonderful XP is, but if you want the most stable Windows OS 2000 is the way to go. We use it at work on both the servers and every workstation, and these computers for the most part haven't been shut off in several years without so much as a hiccup. Granted, XP is based on NT and 2000 code, but with all the fluff they added they screwed it up somewhere along the way. You know there's too much crap when you can do a Win 2000 install from CD close to Start button in 20 minutes and XP takes an hour or so.