Once again: 17" vs 15" MacBook Pro

jvbjvb
Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Alright, I know this topic has been brought up time and time again. But everything is scattered all over the place and my situation is slightly different. First off, I am a college student. I will be bringing this laptop around frequently and my major is tech oriented. I have decided on the MacBook Pro for sure because of the graphics boost. It preserves the notebook in the long run and I need this thing to last awhile once I finally make the purchase. So here's the problem: What size should I get? How much more portable is the 15" than the 17"? I am buying a Neoprene sleeve for whichever size I end up getting. Will the 17" be able to comfortably fit in this sleeve and then into a standard school backpack that I already have? Or is it simply too big? Please make suggestions! This is the only thing I am having a hard time deciding on.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 21
    steste Posts: 119member
    Have you been down to the Apple store and seen them side-by-side? The 17" looked really big to me, and the keyboard set a little too far back for my taste. I am a writer, so I need a keyboard that is comfortable to use for long periods of actual typing, not just the occasional command.

I don't lug my MBP around on a daily basis, but I went for the 15" because it seemed to strike the perfect balance between functionality and portability. Many people here are craving a 12" MB or MBP, but that is too small for my needs; 15" is perfect.

Another factor to consider is the weight. My 15" MBP feels quite heavy just moving it around from room to room in the house. I wouldn't want to carry the 17" around campus every day.

Btw, this is the sleeve I went for, and I am extremely happy with my choice:

http://www.mac-case.com/MacCase%20Sleeves.htm
  • Reply 2 of 21
    smaxsmax Posts: 361member