Wife is pissed cause she can't get on MLS with our new mac...Help!

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hello out there, need a little help with a domestic issue...My wife is a realtor and cannot get on some websites and has trouble with some help software designed for pc's. I got home this evening and she had dug out the pc and attempted to re-connect it to the monitor, keyboard etc...Since I'm new to mac I do not have the wearwithall to solve these problems...Any inexpensive solutions are welcomed...

BQ

Comments

• Reply 1 of 30
    sandausandau Posts: 1,230member
    unfortunately, the MLS system is Windows only, which is ludicrous in this day and age.

your best bet is to install http://www.parallels.com and windows and run it from within windows on your mac.
  • Reply 2 of 30
    aquaticaquatic Posts: 5,602member
    That's if you have Windows.

If you don't, install CrossOver and then IE 6.

http://www.codeweavers.com/products/

IE won't even run "inside" Windows, it will just run.

That'll be probably less than a quarter of the price of parallels + Windows.
  • Reply 3 of 30
    Does it work in Firefox?
  • Reply 4 of 30
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by gregmightdothat View Post

Does it work in Firefox?

Firefox is what we are using...Someone told us that Safari might work. I'm thinking of getting a desktop switch and let her use our old pc, but 50 bucks plus a wireless adapter and having to switch back every time I wanna use the mac......ugh!
  • Reply 5 of 30
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by sandau View Post

unfortunately, the MLS system is Windows only, which is ludicrous in this day and age.

your best bet is to install http://www.parallels.com and windows and run it from within windows on your mac.

the thought of having to buy windows for my mac is kinda funny to me. Perhaps I should have just bought a Dell. I can see the pc guy gloating and the cool guy too baked to help me AND laughing cause I'm not getting laid tonight...