Next-gen MacBook Pro to shine brighter with new backlight tech

Comments

• Reply 81 of 101
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,510member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by John French View Post

I'm no expert on the matter, but I may have a solution to your POV/FOV problem.

The concept is not like that of a compound eye, rather, it is something like spreading out a lens. If you take a digital camera, and look at the image, everything you see comes into the sensor in the one lens. But if you take a frame and place it a few feet in front of the lense, then what you see inside the frame is the Field of View from the lense's Point of View. you can duplicate the same image by spreading out all the pixels so that they are placed inside the area frame, at the angels neccesary to mimic the original PoV.

I know how a camera works, virtual images, etc, vs real images. This is completely different.

Quote:

But, you ask, how could that be done?

Actually, I'm not, because this is completely different.

Quote:

Ever heard of ray-tracing? It simulates the position of the eye, calculates the virtual position of the 3D texture to be drawn, and colors pixels accordingly, which is far more accurate & realistic than anything a videogame can do (though they simulate it). A reverse of this could work; instead of calculating the virtual evironment, it would calculate the position of the "eye" and render in the resulting image from each photo sensor in such a way as to mimic the PoV from the eye.