Go with ATI Radeon 9000 on G4 now or wait for 9700/9800

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I'm finally ready to buy a new 1.42GHz G4. With all the good reports on the ATI Radeon versus the InVidia, I'd like to get it with the ATI Radeon 9700 Pro but it's still not available. The website says Coming Soon and won't let me complete my order. I'd like to order the G4 within the next week.

So my dilemma is, should I go with the ATI 9000 now or delay making my order until the 9700 or 9800 comes out in the next several months (if then)? My 5 year old Windows 98 machine is in sad health and I'd like to swith soon.

Is changing out the 9000 for the 9700/9800 a difficult task? (I've never worked on a computer before so I wouldn't even know what to look for inside there - hopefully the instructions have some good photos) Is it as simple as just unplugging one board and plugging in the new one?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    I have the Radeon 9000 in my Dual 1Ghz Powermac that runs games like Wolfenstein, Medal of Honor, and Jedi Outcast at 1600x1200 res at great quality. It is a little choppy sometimes, but very very rarely. The 9700 Pro would kick serious @$$, but I don't know that I could justify the extra money. If you are playing games, the 9000 is more than adequate, but if you want top notch performance, the 9700 is very easy to install later if need be.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    mcqmcq Posts: 1,543member
    If you don't mind upgrading later, just go for the 9000. Upgrading is basically just pulling the old card out of the slot and sticking the new one in, it's not a very difficult process. You may have to install drivers as well, but that should be easy to do.
  • Reply 3 of 7
    [quote]Originally posted by MCQ:

<strong>You may have to install drivers as well, but that should be easy to do.</strong><hr></blockquote>

No need for this, since OSX handles all the drivers from nVidia and ATI.