Buying Advice

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I need some advice.

I am currently considering buying a new Mac, but I am not sure what would best serve my needs.

I am a full time college student and therefore have very little money. Currently I am running a 12inch iBook G4 1GHz machine, and it does most things very well.

But I would like to buy something a little more substantial that will last me through the rest of my time in school. I am working on my bachelors degree and will ultimately get at least a masters, possibly my doctorate.

I have been having trouble deciding between the black MacBook and the base model MacBookPro. The blackbook is a better price for me, but I am concerned about the longevity with reguards mostly to the graphics card. I am not in any sort of visual arts program, so I do not need anything outrageously powerful, but I would like the option of loading Windows and playing games like Battle Field 2142 with some of my friends.

Other than the occasional games (which I can't use my current machine for obviously) I use my computer for multi-track digital recording, internet, mail, photo's, typing papers, keynote stuff, etc.

Please advise.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    I think you would be quite happy with the base model MBP. If you want to do some gaming the macbook might be a little weak, but definitly an improvement from what you currently have.

I don't know what year of undergrad you are in, but if you just started then getting through your doctorate on the same machine will be tough. If thats the case, you could posibbly upgrade two times throughout your college career with the macbook for roughly the same price as a mbp. Just a thought.
  • Reply 2 of 11
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by neyoung View Post

I think you would be quite happy with the base model MBP. If you want to do some gaming the macbook might be a little weak, but definitly an improvement from what you currently have.