Aperture vs Lightroom: any head-to-head comparisons/reviews?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I've spent a good deal of time looking for a head-to-head comparison of Apple's Aperture and Adobe's Lightroom and haven't been able to find anything. Can anyone point to to something?

I'm an amateur photographer who is progressing toward semi-professional (from a hobby standpoint anyway). I've been thinking about "upgrading" from iPhoto to Aperture or Lightroom. I've downloaded the demos of both but at this point I'm a little overwhelmed at figuring out which I like better (I know it's ultimately my decision, but would like to see some sort of comparison of the two). I use Photoshop Elements, but tend to be a bit of an Apple fanboy, so am leaning toward Aperture.

Thanks for your thoughts....

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    jeffdmjeffdm Posts: 12,951member
    You can get a 30 day free trial of Aperture, and I think Lightroom is still a free beta, so why not try both for yourself? No review can fully replace your experience.
  • Reply 2 of 10
    areseearesee Posts: 776member
    Macworld is talking about doing a comparison after they do their formal review of the shipping version of Lightroom. They are not planning to release the review until the week of Feb 19.
  • Reply 3 of 10
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by JeffDM View Post

You can get a 30 day free trial of Aperture, and I think Lightroom is still a free beta, so why not try both for yourself? No review can fully replace your experience.

I just used Aperture in a real-world situation to download RAW files from a DSLR photoshoot and found it to be more useful than I thought I would... considering buying it now (whereas I wasn't before). 8)
  • Reply 4 of 10