SLI GPU in new MacBook Pro, when??

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
I'm a 3D designer and user GPU intensive virtual reality applications. My PowerBook G4 isn't cutting it. I need a MacBook Pro... but the current models only have a Radeon X1600 (the X1900 is out). As well they don't have SLI options.

MacOSRumors reports the SLI version of MacBook Pro to be around the corner... when should we expect this? What GPUs do you think will be available for it?

Thanks

-=DG=-

Comments

• Reply 1 of 27
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by darkgoob View Post

I'm a 3D designer and user GPU intensive virtual reality applications. My PowerBook G4 isn't cutting it. I need a MacBook Pro... but the current models only have a Radeon X1600 (the X1900 is out). As well they don't have SLI options.

MacOSRumors reports the SLI version of MacBook Pro to be around the corner... when should we expect this? What GPUs do you think will be available for it?

Thanks

-=DG=-

MacOSRumors doesn't have a great track record at predicting things. but chances are good that we'll see an update to the graphics cards in the MBP. I'm no expert, but I think chances are good it'll still be a Radeon. The update will be minor, like going from the X1600 to the X1650 or some such. if you're looking for an X1900 in an MBP, then forget it. Not only is it (the X1900) too big, it uses too much power and is far too hot. As for SLI support, who knows?
  • Reply 2 of 27
    Que the dragon in...3...2...1...
  • Reply 3 of 27
    I think MacOSRumors made a mistake in that article. I don't think they meant the MacBook Pro is getting SLI, I think they meant the Mac Pro is getting SLI. Both machines are getting upgraded features though, and they made a mistake trying to talk about both at the same time.