What are we writing?

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
At the moment I am writing a research paper. I don't really want to, but you all know how school is. In this paper I have to use a minimum of 4 semicolons, and I'll be honest with you, I'm not very good with them. I have browsed around the internet looking for a clear guide on how to use them but I have come up short. Can any of the english majors or teachers here help me out? I would really appreciate this.

Secondly, does anyone here on AI write on a regular basis? If so, would you mind sharing some of your work? Since we have threads covering music, and books I figured writing would be a nice addition.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    carol acarol a Posts: 1,043member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by maimezvous View Post

At the moment I am writing a research paper. I don't really want to, but you all know how school is. In this paper I have to use a minimum of 4 semicolons, and I'll be honest with you, I'm not very good with them. I have browsed around the internet looking for a clear guide on how to use them but I have come up short. Can any of the english majors or teachers here help me out? I would really appreciate this.

Secondly, does anyone write regularly here on AI? If so, would you mind sharing some of your work? Since we have threads covering music, and books I figured writing would be a nice addition.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Semicolons

Quote:

English usage

In English, the semicolon has two main purposes:

It binds two sentences more closely than they would be if separated by a full stop/period. It often replaces a conjunction such as and or but. Writers might consider this appropriate where they are trying to indicate a close relationship between two sentences, or a 'run-on' in meaning from one to the next; they do not want the connection to be broken by the abrupt use of a full stop.