Personal Vista Review

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I love this operating system.

I am still learning the ins and outs, but I have been on it pretty solid for about 3 days, and it's beautiful.

The interface is extremely snappy and attractive on my 6600GT. It really takes advantage of my 1.25GB of RAM. Every single program (aside from iTunes) that I use on a regular basis is running better under Vista than it did under XP.

The security pop-ups are not nearly as irritating as I thought they would be, as they are very easy to get past and never require a password (that I have seen). They let me know that Windows is being cautious about security, which is such a welcome feeling that I am glad to click a few extra "OK" buttons every so often.

The default UI is attractive and professional. I liked XP, but the UI has too goofy, loud, and in-your-face. Aero is classy and slick.

The improvements to Explorer are noticeable, and it adds functionality to the best default file viewer on a major OS platform (in my opinion).

I have noticed that it is more stable than XP, which by SP2 had already evolved into a very stable operating system.

The per-application volume leveling is fantastic and I have already taken advantage of it.

The system-wide search is fantastic, especially for launching obscure tools and utilities.

I am really happy with this OS. Nice job by Microsoft.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 126
    yep just wait after 2 weeks of usage

it will get slower just like xp (hey i am still using vista on my other computer)

just my 2 cents of observation...
  • Reply 2 of 126
    backtomacbacktomac Posts: 4,579member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by groverat View Post

I am still learning the ins and outs, but I have been on it pretty solid for about 3 days, and it's beautiful.