Feature idea: turn off UI sounds when iTunes is playing

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
This is an idea for an OS X/iTunes feature, or it could be made into an application/add-on. I have no experience with scripting/development so I can't put it together myself.

I have my user interface sound effects on because I like the aural feedback, and I expect that most users have the same (if only because it's the default). When I'm playing music from iTunes over the speakers hooked up to my Mac, it can be pretty annoying to have the "empty trash" or "alert" sound interrupt my music. This doesn't happen when I play through AirTunes, but that's not always the case.

Does anyone else think this would be a good idea or am I the only one running into this problem?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    slewisslewis Posts: 2,081member
    Um it's a great idea but the idea behind the System noises is to give you feedback no matter what's going on.

Sebastian
  • Reply 2 of 6
    Right... So? This is a particular instance where I'd want the sounds disabled. The "empty trash" sound makes for nice feedback when the computer's otherwise silent, but it's just annoying when I have music playing. It's not the same as the "alert", which may mean that some app needs my attention.

QT and DVD Player already disable the screensaver during video playback, regardless of the original idea behind screensavers - because having a screensaver pop up during a movie would be really annoying. I'm just suggesting a similar behavior for sound effects and music playback.
  • Reply 3 of 6
    dacloodacloo Posts: 890member
    good idea! It's just a checkbox in preferences away....
  • Reply 4 of 6
    provageprovage Posts: 1member