N00b question on 10.5

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I'm new to Apple

I'm getting a new Macbook from my insurance to replace a Dell. They want me to order my laptop ASAP so they can warp things up but i've been putting it off waiting for OSX 10.5

If i get it now with 10.4 will i have to pay much for the 10.5 upgrade when it comes out ?

Or should i wait for 10.5 ?

Thanx

Comments

• Reply 1 of 23
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by pwnstar View Post

I'm new to Apple

I'm getting a new Macbook from my insurance to replace a Dell. They want me to order my laptop ASAP so they can warp things up but i've been putting it off waiting for OSX 10.5

If i get it now with 10.4 will i have to pay much for the 10.5 upgrade when it comes out ?

Or should i wait for 10.5 ?

Thanx

Sure you could wait... and when 10.5 comes out you'll hear about something else on the horizon, and you'll wonder if you should wait on that. And the cycle never really gets broken. You just have to buy and don't look back.

Right now 10.4 is $130... I have a feeling 10.5 will be a bit more, but it may not. We'll see.
  • Reply 2 of 23
    I agree with you but 10.4 is a the end of a cycle, i just do not want to buy it and 5 days later find out that i'll have to spend a other 130$.

I've worked with some apps like Maya and XSI and when upgrades comes in they will also upgrade everybody that got it a months befor for free. Did apple ever done this ?

10.4 has been out for how long now ? 12- 14 months ?
  • Reply 3 of 23
    Quote:

I agree with you but 10.4 is a the end of a cycle, i just do not want to buy it and 5 days later find out that i'll have to spend a other 130$.

I've worked with some apps like Maya and XSI and when upgrades comes in they will also upgrade everybody that got it a months befor for free. Did apple ever done this ?

10.4 has been out for how long now ? 12- 14 months ?