Do most of you enable firewall?

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I'm relatively new to the Mac and am wondering if most people enabled the firewall on OS X or not? If so, do you use any special settings?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 18
    areseearesee Posts: 776member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by markw10 View Post

I'm relatively new to the Mac and am wondering if most people enabled the firewall on OS X or not? If so, do you use any special settings?

I do. I use the default settings and open up the ports/services as I add them.
  • Reply 2 of 18
    I don't and never did. First of all I have a hardware firewall at my house and second, when no services are enabled in the "Sharing" preference panel, attacks from the outside are very, very unlikely.
  • Reply 3 of 18
    irelandireland Posts: 17,798member
    What's a firewall?
  • Reply 4 of 18
    pbpb Posts: 4,255member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Ireland View Post

What's a firewall?

It is the one that gives your back (or a$$ if you wish ) some fire and makes you run around trying to figure out what is burning, or protects it from that if enabled.
  • Reply 5 of 18
    onlookeronlooker Posts: 5,252member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by gwoodpecker View Post

I don't and never did. First of all I have a hardware firewall at my house and second, when no services are enabled in the "Sharing" preference panel, attacks from the outside are very, very unlikely.

How do you surf the net with no open ports? Did you use the force to type that post? You do not have it on - therefore I think ALL your services are enabled.
  • Reply 6 of 18
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by onlooker View Post

How do you surf the net with no open ports? Did you use the force to type that post? You do not have it on - therefore I think ALL your services are enabled.