Apple TV hacks, reviews, and trivia roundup

12346»

Comments

• Reply 101 of 109
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Mr. H View Post

Thanks. I would say that I didn't help all that much right at the beginning. I was a bit too forthright.

OK... I think you are now being a bit too self-effacing....

Thanks for the informative posts.
  • Reply 102 of 109
    sjksjk Posts: 603member
    Disclaimer: I'm not an expert on the topic so some of my terminology might be a bit off ?

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Mr. H View Post

Did you know, for example, that many of the latest GPUs feature H.264 encoding with much, much higher performance than the CPU-based QuickTime encoder.

Is that "real-time" hardware H.264 encoding, which I've read still can't touch the quality of multi-pass software encoders?

How might GPU H.264 encoding benefit Apple TV? Could that essentially obsolete software currently being used to convert others formats to H.264 by doing the encoding it directly on Apple TV after its received? What's a good example of when it make sense for a GPU encoder to be used rather than just a decoder?

My EyeTV 200 does MPEG-2 encoding in hardware. Exporting to H.264 for Apple TV compatibility would be impractical. MPEG-4 (part 2) exports are faster, but quality significantly suffers (because of QuickTime's lousy codec?). Eye200 also supports MPEG-4 encoding but I wasn't impressed with its quality either when testing about a year ago.

Does it make sense that near-future DVR products from Elgato and/or Miglia will support direct H.264 encoding or is that still further off than I'd hope, or maybe not a worthwhile at all?