Viruses, worms, port infiltrators, Hack the OSX?

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Just out of the blue and due to several other posts, I wanted to get everyone's opinion on OSX and it's vulnerabilites. I am new to OSX, former BSD/XP user I sort of blindly assumed that OSX was relitavely secure due to several reasons that I generated myself about OSX and it being a BSD based system. Was I wrong to assume that all of the above title are ripe for the average OSX user to be swamped by such things? If I was wrong, PLEASE explain the easiest way to put a stop to the above.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 24
    smaxsmax Posts: 361member
    Any operating system has its vulnerabilities, it's just a question as to how they will be exploited. I look at it this way:

There are a ton of people that use Windows and a bunch of vulnerabilities. This means a ton of malware becasue it can reach a bunch of people somewhat easily.

Apple has a smaller market share, so it isn't nearly as proitable for a programmer to find a vulnerability then distribute some software to a comparatively small number of people on the internet. This doesn't mean it can't happen, it's just less likely. The same can go for Linux and BSD based systems, but they hold an even smaller market share.

Now, with Apple gaining popularity, I have a feeling that a lot more holes in security will be found. Couple that with the fact that Apple isn't very quick about releasing security patches and Mac users can be facing a few problems in the future... but at this point there really isn't a reason to be afraid. Just use a firewall and don't be stupid browsing the internet and you should be fine for the most part. Any system can be broken into given enough time/money/profit, so don't be surprised if a gaping security hole that no one's thought of pops up one of these days.
  • Reply 2 of 24
    carniphagecarniphage Posts: 1,984member
    I don't totally buy the market-share argument.