Apple delays Leopard release until October

Comments

• Reply 481 of 504
    jlljll Posts: 2,713member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by melgross View Post

They rewrote a fair amount of the code of the open software they use, or added much to it. That's why the whining from the open software crowd that Apple doesn't do it the way they want.

Links? Or are you just making general assumptions based on one project (KHTML) which they fixed two years ago.

Quote:

Apple added many features to FreeBSD and other projects it contributed code to.

That's not rewriting - that's the point of OSS.
  • Reply 482 of 504
    chuckerchucker Posts: 5,089member
    Quote:

they left it there for developers to play with until they could.

Then, as a developer, I'd be very curious how to activate it. You can't.
  • Reply 483 of 504
    mr. hmr. h Posts: 4,870member
    Quote:

Perhaps I've named it wrongly. I was talking about the x86 compatability box. What was it called? I obviously don't remember.

Presumably you are talking about Yellow Box for Windows - that would have allowed developers to write Cocoa apps and compile them as "fat" or "universal" binaries that would run on either PPC Mac OS X or Windows with Yellow Box for Windows installed. That was originally planned and subsequently dropped. However, it is unclear whether it was dropped because there were too many problems getting it to work, or if it was more of a business decision (people were worried that Yellow Box for Windows would reduce the incentive for Windows users to switch to Mac).

You could also be thinking of Red Box. Red Box was/is a myth - a proposed Windows API for OS X - i.e. the equivalent of WINE/Crossover. Apple were never working on a Red Box.
  • Reply 484 of 504
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Chucker View Post

You mean "Enable Quartz 2D Extreme" in the Quartz Debug application doesn't actually do anything?