Pro Quad 3gighz Advice Needed

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I am a graphic design/video editor. Looking to upgrade my mac g5 with 4 gigs of ram. Should I upgrade to the quad g5 pro 3 gighz with 8 gigs of ram? I also will be do video editing/encore on top of using Photoshop Illustrator Indesign.

Will it be a significant upgrade. Are the new upgrades realy worthit for cs3. Or will it pay divendends on the release on cs 4 etc. Does it realy make sense to hold off for the Dual Octos?

Which video card would you recommend for dual 30 inch monitors? Or 1 30 inch mac and a wacom Cintique?

Thanks in Advance

Vincent D

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    backtomacbacktomac Posts: 4,579member
  • Reply 2 of 10
    carniphagecarniphage Posts: 1,984member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Efficiency View Post

Which video card would you recommend for dual 30 inch monitors? Or 1 30 inch mac and a wacom Cintique?

Thanks in Advance

Vincent D

If your main pointing device is a graphic tablet - I'd avoid dual monitors.

C.
  • Reply 3 of 10
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Carniphage View Post

If your main pointing device is a graphic tablet - I'd avoid dual monitors.

C.

Thanks for the advice. What is your advice on the video card? Get the top of the line Nvidia or not realy worthit unless im doing 3d rendering?
  • Reply 4 of 10
    bacillusbacillus Posts: 313member
    FWIW... Barefeats has posted a less than great report on the octo (not bad mind you)

http://www.barefeats.com/octopro1.html

This is what they say (good wrapup)

Quote:

We did run the "test-compute-speed" with digLloydTools (DLT) on the 8 core. Its aggregate rate was 1204MB/sec (versus the 4 core's 601MB/s). That says that if the task is pure CPU, the 8 core is twice as fast as the 4 core. But if your task has to do a lot of interaction with memory, the advantage drops almost to nothing -- as we saw with Photoshop CS3 and Aperture.