MBP roadmap: the next 2 iterations

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
I've been thinking about starting this thread for a little while, as i'll probably look at getting a new MBP early next year...

I know there are threads on processors, GPUs, B-R vs HD-DVD, etc, and whilst not wanting to trample on anyones toes, i thought it might be good to have a consolidated thread to see if we can get an overall picture of where the MBP is going...

So whilst trying to be realistic and knowing that apple can be both innovative and conservative in terms of technology adoption, rather than simply making a wishlist, where do ppl think the 15" & 17" MBP is going over the next two releases (c.May07 & 1q 08) in terms of:

CPU: Santa Rosa May 07. Penryn Q1 08. clock speeds: c.2.33-2.66?

[nehalem, a big step forward, perhaps the next (3rd from now) iteration again in second half of 08? - as a video editor/dvd author, i've read this chip potentially has the biggest improvement for this area]

GPU: in the MBP GPU thread onlooker hopes for a GeForce Go 7800, while BenRoethig suggests the GeForce Go 8600 or Radeon Mobility x2600HD. i admit i know little about GPUs, so i won't try to add to this beyond asking if they are going to go beyond 512mb in mobile GPUs anytime soon?

Optical Drive: options: B-R, HD-DVD, combo B-R/HD-DVD, standard superdrive. considering Apple hasn't yet released DVDSP for B-R (nor HD-DVDi) and the cost of the drives atm, i can't see these formats being available in the MBP til early next year at the soonest.

HDD: May 07 as now? Q1 08 perhaps a small increment upwards? any recent developments that might make their way in by this time next year?

Screen Technology: backlit LED? lol, multi-touch??

Connectivity: gigabit ethernet/USB2/FW400/FW800/BT. will eSATA get a look in? anything else?