Intel introduces first solid-state drives based on flash memory

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 37
    kolchakkolchak Posts: 1,398member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by JamesG View Post

Also I am of the camp that says computers should be off when not in use. This statement obviously excludes servers. I just believe that turning it off increases the lifetime of the unit, and leaving it on is an unnecessary power consumption. The equivalent (albeit crude due to Energy Saver technology) is leaving your car running in the garage all the time. Being a tech, I see too many power adapters, power supplies, and hard drives fail.

Why would putting systems to sleep rather than shutting down cause hard drives to fail faster? Don't the drives spin down in either case? Are you sure you're a tech? As for power consumption, even a sleeping Mac Pro draws only about 5 watts. The various wall warts around your house almost certainly draw more collectively. Sleep it for a full day and you'll eat about the same power as a 100 watt light bulb in one hour. Macs don't draw 0 watts even when shut down, either. They're always drawing at least a watt or two since they don't have hard power switches, so the power supply is always active, unless you actually unplug it or switch it off with a power strip. For some of us, the increased productivity of being able to get back to work instantly with exactly the files and applications we've been working on still open is worth a few watts. And what about all the drive activity required to cold boot a Mac? Wouldn't that reduce HD lifetime?
  • Reply 22 of 37
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Kolchak View Post