Photoshop 7 price?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I am running a pirate copy of Photoshop 5 now... (I know, that's bad, but hey, I'm a student and have next to no money). Anyhow, with the release of PS7, that might change...

However, I still can't quite afford the £250 ($375) education price. It's down a bit from the £600 ($900) full price, but still, it's a lot. Now, I could afford the £130 ($200) upgrade price... but would that work without me having the actual disks?

Yes, I have asked this question before, but back then I was told that the education normal price would be the same as the upgrade price. Therefore no-one answered my question. But since they're not, anyone know if this'll work?

Amorya

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    Two words: Photoshop Elements. It offers next to all the power of Photoshop at an extremely attractive price. It's worlds better than Photoshop LE. Unless you're doing professional work, I'm hard-pressed to see why you'd need the full version of Photoshop. If you're doing professional work, the $175 price difference between upgrading and buying educational should be tolerable.

The only thing Photoshop Elements is missing that I miss is support for 16-bits per channel (well, and ImageReady, I suppose). Since my scanner puts out 12-bit color, using Elements didn't quite cut it for me when doing major color correction on faded slides. However, if I didn't have the money for the full version of Photoshop, Elements would have done just fine.

I'd just bite the bullet and buy a full version of Elements for less than $100. You'll feel better about yourself and it will cost you significantly less money.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    amoryaamorya Posts: 1,103member
    [quote]Originally posted by Osakans: