Advice: Buy MacBook (Pro) now/later?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I was just curious to see what other people think. I'm in the market for a MacBook or MacBook Pro (still haven't decided whether or not to dish out the extra $$ for the Pro) for undergrad school this fall. Should I go ahead and buy now? Or should I wait until the very last moment to buy to make sure I have the latest and greatest?

Like all normal human beings, I want it now, but do you think Apple will release anymore upgrades before I leave for school in August? Seeing as how they just added some minor upgrades not too ago, it seems, logically, that nothing will happen before school starts. I'm somewhat new to the Apple scene, so I don't know how often upgrades are made. I just really don't want to buy and have another model released the next day. Also, when's the new OS being released? Any help would be great. Thanks!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    flounderflounder Posts: 2,674member
    the MBP, if you take a look around the rumor sites, is widely believed to be receiving an update tomorrow or next week, so if you are interested in a MBP, you definitely want to hold off.

Leopard is supposed to be released in October. I wouldn't put off a computer purchase just for that. As a student, you'll be able to get for $69 anyways.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    Oh, know! Haha, I was just about settled on buying a plain macbook (for the $$ a much better deal). This, if it's true, makes my decision a bit more complicated. Just curious, what are these "rumor sites"?
  • Reply 3 of 8
    flounderflounder Posts: 2,674member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by compulsiveguile View Post

Oh, know! Haha, I was just about settled on buying a plain macbook (for the $$ a much better deal). This, if it's true, makes my decision a bit more complicated. Just curious, what are these "rumor sites"?

You're looking at one right here. I'd recommend going to the AI front page and the future hardware forum.