Apple iPhone may capture 26 percent of smartphone buyers - report

Comments

• Reply 41 of 83
    murphywebmurphyweb Posts: 295member
    Quote:

Yeah, I know, but it is still a weakness. It means that much less that people will be familiar with it. We use Apple, but we only are enterprise in a loose term, definetly not the hundred thousand employee company of Corporate America. That is a huge market, sure hindered by volume discounts, but heck, if they got half profit and doubled their sales, it's the same amount in the pocket not even accounting for economy of scale.

Exactly, and before this stupid argument about whether Apple is a Software company or not this was exactly my point and as i work in the enterprise application industry i do have experience to back up my thoughts. The enterprise market is somewhere that i feel Apple will have to get into at some point soon, to be honest it is a no brainer. I am a fairly recent convert to Mac and i have been blown away by OSX, If it were up to me i would never use a windows machine again, but my work laptop is Windows.

The thought of a company as innovative, creative and brave as Apple is seriously having a go at the enterprise communications market would excite me and should scare the shit out of Microsoft, IBM and Novell and i cannot help feeling that Apple is slowly putting everything in place to make it a viable option. It maybe is not the obvious candidates that could point to this, not even the iPhone which one could see as the beginnings of a business device, but potentially it is Safari for windows that one might see as the beginning. Or maybe i am full of shit, who knows, I would like to see it though.
  • Reply 42 of 83
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,510member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by murphyweb View Post