IMPORTANT iPone question!? :-)

Posted:
in iPod + iTunes + AppleTV edited January 2014
I have a question about the iphone that I can't seem to get an answer to on the apple website.

Basically I wanted to know if after you buy the iphone for $500 or $600 at the apple store lets say....do you have to ON THE SPOT sign an AT & T contract?

I was wondering because currently I use a virgin pay as you go plan since I TRAVEL alot, which works great because I am an artist on a budget, and that kind of flexibility and lack of commitment works perfect for me and my situation.

So I thought, it'd be cool to just nab the iphone by itself first, learn the ropes and use its wifi features when I was on the road. Then LATER buy into a plan when I want to.

Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    spindriftspindrift Posts: 674member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by regan View Post

I have a question about the iphone that I can't seem to get an answer to on the apple website.

Basically I wanted to know if after you buy the iphone for $500 or $600 at the apple store lets say....do you have to ON THE SPOT sign an AT & T contract?

I was wondering because currently I use a virgin pay as you go plan since I TRAVEL alot, which works great because I am an artist on a budget, and that kind of flexibility and lack of commitment works perfect for me and my situation.

So I thought, it'd be cool to just nab the iphone by itself first, learn the ropes and use its wifi features when I was on the road. Then LATER buy into a plan when I want to.

Thanks

I'll tell you on the 29th
  • Reply 2 of 5
    cosmonutcosmonut Posts: 4,872member
    Apple's Web site makes it pretty clear that you can't get an iPhone without a 2-year contract.
  • Reply 3 of 5
    cpt kcpt k Posts: 33member