AT&T to impose $175 early iPhone cancelation fee

Comments

• Reply 61 of 116
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Neruda View Post

There is another, more fundamental choice. Buy it or don't. I would like to be able to buy a Ferrari from GM at GM prices, but it ain't gonna happen.

That's not quite a similar analogy. But imagine this...

"We here at Tirelli® are introducing today our revolutionary new iTire? 100 Premium Tire. It's an amazing tire, and we think you're gonna love it. Its improved handling eliminates accidents, improves gas mileage by 25%, and its new CarbonTouch? technology actually absorbs carbon dioxide from the air--reducing your car's environmental impact the more you drive. And it's only available... on all GM vehicles."

• Reply 62 of 116
    icibaquicibaqu Posts: 278member
    i'm a real lawyer and i can bet you that at&t's lawyers looked into the validity of the clause regarding their cancellation fee.

or it could be that the phone is subsidized behind the scenes, hence the fee, etc.
  • Reply 63 of 116
    jeffdmjeffdm Posts: 12,951member
    A lot of these arguments hinge on the assumption that the iPhone isn't subsidized. I don't remember any official statement saying whether or not that is true. If the unsubsidized price of the device is $200 higher, then a $175 cancellation fee isn't that bad. The difference between subsidized and unsubsidized is probably all profit for AT&T anyway.
  • Reply 64 of 116
  • Reply 65 of 116
    Having worked at a wireless carrier once, I know this sucks and prepaid is much better, though North American carriers lose their shirts on prepaid.

All the terms for existing AT&T contracts are available on the web. $175 is not new. $36 activation is not new. It is not damage recovery, it's absolutely legally enforceable as a contract cancellation fee.