iPhone Security Holes?

Posted:
in iPhone edited January 2014
Should we be worried about this:

http://rixstep.com/2/1/20070703,00.shtml

http://rixstep.com/1/1/20070703,00.shtml

I don't know a lot about Unix security, so I'm wondering if the concerns raised in the above articles are serious or not.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    sc_marktsc_markt Posts: 1,401member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by DoughBoy View Post

Should we be worried about this:

http://rixstep.com/2/1/20070703,00.shtml

http://rixstep.com/1/1/20070703,00.shtml

I don't know a lot about Unix security, so I'm wondering if the concerns raised in the above articles are serious or not.

I'm not a programmer but these sound serious to me. As a precaution, I sent the links and a message about them to Apple's iPhone feedback page. Below is the link if anybody else wants to email Apple about this.

http://www.apple.com/feedback/iphone.html
  • Reply 2 of 15
    fuzz_ballfuzz_ball Posts: 390member
    He's primarily talking about applications, which currently cannot be installed on the device. Now if apps could be installed on the device, then all those things would be very bad. As it is, they are not good, but probably not a big deal as long as Apple maintains the iPhone as a closed system.

Since many (myself included) are clamoring for Apple to open up a bit so we can all provide applications that people want (ePocrates for one) then it will be a BIG DEAL.

Not to say that there is not anything wrong with the browser/e-mail potential for a hacker, but that remains to be seen.
  • Reply 3 of 15
    fairlyfairly Posts: 102member
    Quote:

He's primarily talking about applications, which currently cannot be installed on the device.

Not sure about that. MobileMail and Safari both are attack vectors. You don't need to install applications on the device - you deliver the malicious software through a web page or e-mail message. Just like any of those Microsoft worms.
  • Reply 4 of 15