Fonts: What do you use to write papers, articles, etc...

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
After reading through the font wars in this thread, I thought it would be nice to know what font people use to write school papers, brochures, letters, articles, basically anything they feed into a word processing program like Word, Nisus, etc.

I have always used Verdana because I like to standardize from the web page to the paper but with all the elegant font talk, I am ready to make a change when writing articles and papers but I am not a font expert by any means. I just want something easy on the eyes and attractive.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    slewisslewis Posts: 2,081member
    Null.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    Times new Roman is mandated for all papers in my classes (English mostly although I had to do some research in Biology once...). Otherwise I don't really care as long as I can read it.
  • Reply 3 of 8
    mrtotesmrtotes Posts: 760member
    Arial 12pt, becuase that's what work makes us use for everything (one corporate image ;-) ) and I can't seem to get out of the habit at home!

Good job Apple and M$ continued to agree to support Arial, Times New Roman, Verdana etc on OS X. http://www.apple.com/pr/library/2007/08/02font.html
  • Reply 4 of 8
    galleygalley Posts: 971member
    Arial on my work PC, Helvetica on my MacBook.
  • Reply 5 of 8
    splinemodelsplinemodel Posts: 7,311member
    It depends a lot on the output medium. If it's PDF, which is quite the norm for me, then font compatibilty is a non-issue. To be fair, this is why MS Word's day are numbered. It won't be long before there are nice word processors that can operate directly within PDFs. As PDFs are already the de-facto document standard, it's the end of the story.