Looking for a good backup program

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I am relatively new to the Mac and know it's time for a good backup program. I have looked and seen backup programs such as Silverkeeper and Retrospect. I will be backing up to a hard drive that's attached to a airdisk and at times as well to a Lacie Firewire drive. I keep the Lacie in a safe for a 2nd backup in case of fire/theft or failure of my main backup.

Also I keep a 3rd backup on DVD offsite but this one isn't backed up often.

The way I like to do my backups on my server drive is on a weekly basis do a complete system backup and on a daily basis at night do a backup of any data (safari favorites, documents, quickbooks data, etc).

I have been a PC user for years and used Acronis most of the time and would either do a system backup or select certain directories to backup. I tried a trial of Silverkeeper when i first got my system. Maybe I did something wrong but it seemed hard to use and seemed to only have the full system backup option. What are some backup programs I should try? I know TimeMachine is coming out but I at least need a good solution until Oct.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 25
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,322moderator
    Superduper:

http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDup...scription.html

or carbon copy cloner (free but PPC):

http://www.bombich.com/software/ccc.html

I prefer Superduper and I've had no problems with it but I only use it for a one time clone and then I do manual backups.
  • Reply 2 of 25
    SuperDuper.
  • Reply 3 of 25
    sequitursequitur Posts: 1,910member
    I agree with Marvin and Carrier Wave: SuperDuper. After using several versions of Retrospect for about 4 years and SiverKeeper for awhile and finding them awkward at times, I started using Superduper. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles that other backup apps have, but it is easier to use.