Macbook and Photoshop

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
So I'm really hankering to switch to Mac; I visited the Apple Store, and a new dilemma presented itself. I'm a photographer (not a professional though), so I'll need Photoshop. The man who helped me told me two things, and I wanted to make sure they're actually true, and that he wasn't just trying to upsell me.

- He said that the Macbook wouldn't be able to run Photoshop because of its lack of a dedicated graphics card. He said that I'd need to purchase a Macbook Pro in order to run it. I understand that it'd be BETTER with the Pro (so please don't just tell me to save my money for the Macbook Pro because I'll like it better), but I'm trying to figure out if it's an issue of it working or not, versus the ease with which you can run it. I run Photoshop 7 on a computer with a 32 mb integrated card, and I haven't had any problems. So if you could help me clarify this that'd be great.

- He said that the display on the Macbook doesn't display true colors, that everything would be just a little bit off. He said I'd need some special display that is offered on the Macbook Pro in order to see true colors. Is the difference that drastic?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    buddhabuddha Posts: 386member
    This seems pretty untrue to me, I think it would run photoshop well.
  • Reply 2 of 9
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,324moderator
    Assuming you get Photoshop CS3, it runs just fine on a Macbook. The Photoshop preferences do note down what the GPU is and have a check-box for 3D acceleration, which says it's "to enhance the performance of graphic display and rendering" but this is just for 3D objects:

http://livedocs.adobe.com/en_US/Phot...89DBB2362.html

So if you want to include 3D objects, a faster card would help but even the GMA is capable of supporting 3D objects, the faster card will just support more detailed ones.

AFAIK, it doesn't accelerate general tasks.

Quote: