New iMac or Wait for new MacPro?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hey Everyone,

I need some opinions here...

I'm a graphic designer/web developer, and am shortly going to be in need of a new machine. Currently, my daily machine is a Powerbook G4, 1.67GHz, 2GB Ram + a LaCie 1TB FW800 Ext Raid 5 -- (My backup machine is a Dell Precision 330, 1.5GHz, PIV, 1GB Ram -- Circa 1999). [Obviously] it's not often that I buy a new machine, so when I do, it's usually fully loaded, so that I can get the most mileage out of it. I've been waiting for a *genuine* MacPro update for a while now, and feel like I'm losing my grip to hold off much longer... esp. now with the new iMacs.

In my daily work grind, I think I really run my hardware to it's limits. Currently, I find that I'm using the following apps everyday -- usually all at the same time: Adobe Illustrator CS3, Photoshop CS3, Adobe Lightroom, Suitcase Fusion, BBEdit, Acrobat 8Pro, Transmit, CSS Edit, Feeder, Xyle Scope, Thunderbird, Ichat, Firefox, Safari, Camino, Newsfire.

Question 1:

So, I ask you all, which do you think would better fit my needs? A 4-8core MacPro, 8GB Ram, 500GB HD, ATI 1900, 30" ACD -- OR -- 24" iMac, 2.8GHz Extreme C2D, 4GB Ram, 500GB HD?

Question 2:

Do you think it makes more sense to spend $3000 for a loaded iMac and replace it again in 2yrs, or $8000 for a new MacPro (Penryn), and replace it again in 5 years?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    buddhabuddha Posts: 386member
    Honestly, unless you're waiting for GPU update, I don't see why you're holding off on the Mac Pro. Aside from that I think an iMac can run all of those programs as fast as needed, I am not fimiliar with a couple but all of the ones I am fimiliar with do not require an extremely fast computer whatsoever.
  • Reply 2 of 16
    SpamSandwichSpamSandwich Posts: 33,407member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Track_40 View Post

Hey Everyone,

I need some opinions here...