sorry for being a total novice to mac

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
hi, I am interested in converting from M$ to MAC and was just had a simple newbie question that i don't want to offend anyone's eyes, etc....so don't flame me please...........

When powered on, can i turn off the screen on an imac when I want to walk away with it still on (like a monitor)?

Regards,

Deano72

Comments

• Reply 1 of 19
    Yes. The iMac's have a Sleep Mode.

Or you can dim the screen all the way down to nearly off...
  • Reply 2 of 19
    deano72deano72 Posts: 15member
    thanks.

Just a bit nervous about taking the plunge to mac from windows..lol
  • Reply 3 of 19
    SpamSandwichSpamSandwich Posts: 33,407member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by deano72 View Post

thanks.

Just a bit nervous about taking the plunge to mac from windows..lol

You'll like it, once you get past the initial shock.

BTW, sleep mode is found under the upper-left blue Apple logo, below "Force Quit"...
  • Reply 4 of 19
    ta.

my criteria for using a computer are simple. lol.

1.) surfing

2.) downloading some things via newsgroups

3.) photo editing

4.) cd/dvd burning

5.) music/video (avi, etc)

6.) mame!!!

I don't play many games, but i guess with bootcamp/parallels, i could run some pc apps/games?
  • Reply 5 of 19
    Quote:

ta.

my criteria for using a computer are simple. lol.

1.) surfing

2.) downloading some things via newsgroups

3.) photo editing

4.) cd/dvd burning

5.) music/video (avi, etc)

6.) mame!!!

I don't play many games, but i guess with bootcamp/parallels, i could run some pc apps/games?

Yes, Boot Camp will allow you to continue to subject yourself to Windows, including the joy of Windows virii.
  • Reply 6 of 19
    lol.

will parallels allow me to run some apps that i use currently, like vso x2dvd (avi to dvd convertor prog)?
  • Reply 7 of 19
    Quote:

lol.