Design details and teardown photos of Apple's new iMacs

Comments

• Reply 21 of 42
    jeffdmjeffdm Posts: 12,951member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Flounder View Post

Although iChat currently limits it to 640*480, apparentely the iSight in the new MBPs is 1.3. I read that on macrumors I think.

Edit: Yup, found the link

http://www.macrumors.com/2007/06/28/...-3-mp-upgrade/

If it's still the cell phone camera style, then the picture's not going to be much better at the higher resolution.
  • Reply 22 of 42
    rolandgrolandg Posts: 632member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by JeffDM View Post

Etching is a bad way to go, you aren't likely to be able to see anything through it. I would pay more for an antireflective treatment that's been done on some CRTs and eyeglasses. It's done on most camera lenses & binoculars that I've seen too.

I am no glass expert, as you can tell from my first post, but this kind of treatment is what I had in mind. In my understanding, roughing up the surface would eliminate the reflections. May be there are other more suitable treatments available (IRC CRTs have multiple layers of coating). But you get the idea...

I wonder why (possibly cost-of-scale effects or cost of storing multiple variants) Apple does not offer matte glass as an option.
  • Reply 23 of 42
    mstonemstone Posts: 11,510member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by killerapp View Post

This new iMac reminds me of the Simpsons episode where the kids go crazy to buy the new Malibu Stacey doll simply because she has a new hat. I can't figure out why I would want to replace my existing iMac with this new one -- simply because it's a different color and the screen is highly reflective? That seems like a really bad thing, I hate glossy screens. They'll have to make it matte again before I'll upgrade.