Since the iMac is out, a possible concept of what could have been

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
I have never done a mockup before, so forgive me if this seems a little amateurish, but the new iMac got me thinking. If Apple wanted to go in the design direction of the iPhone, why not go in that direction instead of doing the iPhone/ iPod Shuffle combo look?

I like the look of the new iMac, but the black bezel puzzles me. FI they wanted to look more like iPhone, there are other ways of accomplishing this. One way is the idea that I am trying to depict in the mockup here. There was one outstanding mockup earlier with multitouch video that was amazing. Since Apple is going a more subdued route, I thought I would offer this thought.

This design is more sensible for the wall mount option of the 24" as well (IMHO).

Comments

• Reply 1 of 29
    Thats REALLY cool, and WAY better than what Apple came up with IMO well done!
  • Reply 2 of 29
    aegisdesignaegisdesign Posts: 2,914member
    That looks quite nice. Losing the aluminium chin for a black one makes a world of difference. There's two many contrasting surfaces in the new iMac and your mockup simplifies it.

If you're going to have a black bezel, make a feature of it!

The other design I'd have liked is losing the black and glass and replacing with an aluminium bezel. This could actually be done to the new iMac. Just remove the glass, add an aluminium frame around the LCD panel.
  • Reply 3 of 29
    sennensennen Posts: 1,472member
    zomg!! glass!! reflections!!! whats the GPU?!?! apple is teh devil! the end is nigh!

seriously though, it looks very nice. a couple of iterations into the future, perhaps the imac will actually look similar to that... or maybe not! but if it did, i'd be happy about it. [though the inviso-imac still rules as far as mock ups go!]
  • Reply 4 of 29
    bg_nycbg_nyc Posts: 189member