javascript in iWeb?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Is there a way (preferably free) to add javascript to iWeb (v1.1.2) ? If not, perhaps somebody can assist me otherwise. Is there a way to add it using HTML? I've successfully used iWebMore to add HTML (I thought this site might help http://www.searchengineforums.com/to...cript-encrypt/), so that's why I ask. In case there's an easier completely different solution, here's the situation:

I want to password protect just a single page on my iWeb website (all this is being published on .Mac), so I did a quick search and found the following javascript code which password protects a page. I'm new to this whole web design thing so if I'm completely off on something, let me know. I'm looking for something just to deter people from accessing this page. There's no need for a totally secure way.

Here's the code:

Code:

<HEAD>

<SCRIPT language="JavaScript">

<!--hide

var password;

var pass1="test";

password=prompt('Please enter your password to view this page!',' ');

if (password==pass1)

alert('Password Correct! Click OK to enter!');

else

{

window.location="http://www.pageresource.com/jscript/jpass.htm";

}

//-->

</SCRIPT>

</HEAD>

I also found this site, though I'm not sure that it'll be of any help at all.

Any help would be great. Thanks!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    You know you can password protect iWeb sites from within the app, right? In inspector, click on the .mac logo and then password.
  • Reply 2 of 4
    Yeah, I know you can do that. That password protects the whole site though if I'm correct. If I create an entire different site, will I run into any problems? I just feel like I shouldn't have to make a completely different "site" just for one page. I'd like to be able to keep the main domain name (ex. web.mac.com/*username*/iWeb/*mainsitename*/*passwordprotectedpage*.html).