Do all 20" iMacs have the gradient problem?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I'm sure most of you are aware of the gradient issue. I'm planning on getting the new 20" iMac when leopard comes out, but I'm beginning to have second thoughts now.

My budget is 1500 dollars. I cannot push this budget any further, by any means. I currently work on an HP PC, with a 19 flat-panel monitor. You should know that I'm a digital painter, so I use a wacom tablet. My current intuos tablet (which is 6x8) will not function properly on a widescreen monitor, so, along with the new 20" imac, I would need to purchase a 6x11 intuos tablet.

20" iMac = 1200

6x11 intuos = 300

If I were to get a 24" iMac, and the 12x19 tablet I would need for the screen, I would have to pay 1800 for the iMac alone (which is 300 dollars above my budget) and 700 for the 12x19 tablet (it's the most expensive tablet, aside from the centiq.) That makes 2500 total, which I stress, is a thousand dollars I don't have.

So, that's why I'm stressing over the 20" model's gradient issue.

I need to know - has this problem been present in all 20" models, or just some? Has apple adressed the issue, and do they intend to fix it?

Again, please don't tell me to get a 24". I don't have the funds.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ArtIsLife View Post

I'm sure most of you are aware of the gradient issue. I'm planning on getting the new 20" iMac when leopard comes out, but I'm beginning to have second thoughts now.

My budget is 1500 dollars. I cannot push this budget any further, by any means. I currently work on an HP PC, with a 19 flat-panel monitor. You should know that I'm a digital painter, so I use a wacom tablet. My current intuos tablet (which is 6x8) will not function properly on a widescreen monitor, so, along with the new 20" imac, I would need to purchase a 6x11 intuos tablet.

20" iMac = 1200

6x11 intuos = 300