What's Your Ringtone?

Posted:
in AppleOutsider edited January 2014
Well, spawning this from the "Done as a Society" thread, let's hear what your ringtone is. Also, what format is it in and where did you get it?

Mine currently is a MIDI version of the intro to "Newborn" by Muse. I downloaded it from some web ringtone archive I found through Google. I've been using this as my primary ringtone for about 2 years.

I hate MP3 ringtones. The fidelity of mobile phone loudspeakers is horrible, and I just think MP3 ringtones are ultra tacky, especially since people who like this type of ringtone tend to choose urban/hip hop.

I also like simple "ring ring" type ringtones but I never really hated well-done, recognizable, catchy multitimbral midi tunes. Trouble is, "well-done" is hard to find.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    trumptmantrumptman Posts: 16,464member
    It's weird but I prefer the MIDI ringtones as well. It was sort of cool from a musician+geek perspective to see how they would render certain songs.

Last ringtone on my other phone was "I Wanna Be Your Lover" by Prince. The current phone, a Moto Razor is just one of the included ringtones.

Nick
  • Reply 2 of 15
    zozo Posts: 3,117member
    I've made quite a few myself with "MP3 Trimmer"

Just copy pasted the ones I have used over the years

BTW, I name them with an "X" so they all appear at the bottom of the ring tone list in any phone I use them with

x AC/DC Thunderstruck

x fanfare Knives And Bullets (And Cannons Too)

x lapdance NERD

x whistle La muerte

x AmericanBeauty

x 24 Cisco Ringtone

x whistle young folks

x whistle ww2

x Nokia Lounge Version

x Rose Rouge - Saint Germain

x whistle twisted nerve

x The Godfather Theme

x minemine - Finding Nemo

x Lost_System_Failure (this WILL wake you up)

x whistle River Kwai

x Tokyo Drift (Fast & Furious)

x Rolling Stones - Paint It Black

x Jovanotti - Ombelico Del Mondo

x cancan
  • Reply 3 of 15
    galleygalley Posts: 971member