Single User License; Multiple PCs?

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 31
    Another reason serial numbers are stupid for Apple is because you need to plop down 1000$ + on hardware to run the damned OS. Damned GOOD OS that is...
  • Reply 22 of 31
    yes, apple hardware is really a very expensive hardware dongle for their system software. they probably don't bother with serial numbers because they've already made money on the hardware and it's not worth the effort and time/money to engineer a serial number system.
  • Reply 23 of 31
    Ok so we have two macs in the house, and will only buying a single copy screw anything up? Like I guess what I am trying to say, I'm a broke student with a macbook, and my dad wants to buy leopard and I want to use his copy. Both of us registered our macs when we bought them, will this work?
  • Reply 24 of 31
    idaveidave Posts: 1,283member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by foolio21 View Post

Ok so we have two macs in the house, and will only buying a single copy screw anything up? Like I guess what I am trying to say, I'm a broke student with a macbook, and my dad wants to buy leopard and I want to use his copy. Both of us registered our macs when we bought them, will this work?

Yeah, it'll work but your dad will go to prison.
  • Reply 25 of 31
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by iDave View Post

Yeah, it'll work but your dad will go to prison.

Oh, that's cold....

I like it.
  • Reply 26 of 31
    If the two computers with the same license are connected to a network, wouldn't they detect each other?

I know Microsoft Office for Mac does that. I installed it on two mac computers in my house and when they are both connected to the network, I get a pop that says "Two Mircrosoft office licesnses are active. Microsoft Word will shut down now."
  • Reply 27 of 31
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by 1337_5L4Xx0R View Post