How to control another mac on a network

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
I've tried searching for this, but I fear I don't know the correct terms to search on. I'm a networking novice, so am relatively clueless.

At work I have two Macs (one Leopard, one Tiger) that are both attached to the network via an Ethernet connection.

What I would like to be able to do is control one Mac with the other (including adding and deleting files). I'm pretty sure OSX natively includes this functionality -- I just don't know where to go for a tutorial.

Could someone kindly point me to a knowledgebase (or other) article that can guide me through this process?

Thanks!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 19
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member
    Timbuktu Pro pioneered the technology on the Mac.

PC Anywhere was late to the party.
  • Reply 2 of 19
    Apple remote access will do that but you need the server version
  • Reply 3 of 19
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Argelius View Post

I've tried searching for this, but I fear I don't know the correct terms to search on. I'm a networking novice, so am relatively clueless.

At work I have two Macs (one Leopard, one Tiger) that are both attached to the network via an Ethernet connection.

What I would like to be able to do is control one Mac with the other (including adding and deleting files). I'm pretty sure OSX natively includes this functionality -- I just don't know where to go for a tutorial.

Could someone kindly point me to a knowledgebase (or other) article that can guide me through this process?

Thanks!

iChat in 10.5 will let you do it.
  • Reply 4 of 19
    yep, Leopard does it via "screen sharing" ... built into the OS. Any earlier version will require Apple Remote Access (or a third party app that does the same thing.)

I've gotten Screen Sharing to work on my home network, but have NOT been able to get it to work across the internet.
  • Reply 5 of 19