Leopard Upgrade Problems

Posted:
in macOS edited January 2014
Wow.

After reading some of the childish and/or arrogant responses to people posting Leopard problems here, I am rather reluctant to share my experiences. However, one never knows until one trys. So here goes.

My setup (prior to upgrade):

MBP 17 C2D 160 3GB running 10.4.10

Major apps:

MS Office

VMware Fusion with a 40GB partition running XP Pro SP2 (windows is a REQUIREMENT, not an option. for my work environment)

iTunes (38GBs and growing)

Gmail (In constant use due to work environment)

SuperDuper (best backup program I have ever used)

A little background:

While I am NOT a software developer, programmer or engineer, I do have extensive hardware development experience. That's why I am truly puzzled by some of the awful things that occurred during my install(s), and my subsequent challenges with Leopard.

First attempt:

I waited several days after the official launch before attempting to install. My first try was an upgrade, rather than a clean install. At first, things seemed to work OK, but then I started having problems staying online with Gmail and Safari in general. Next thing I knew I started having permission errors. Programs that had allowed access denied me access now.

Perplexed, I went to both the SuperDuper Forum and the Apple Discussion area. In both cases, the general sense of it was that my problems were more likely due to the upgrade path I had chosen, rather than Leopard itself.

Second attempt:

This time I did a clean install after a complete reformat and zero data wipe using Disk Utilities from the Leopard install disc. Next, I used the migration feature to transfer over all my files, etc from a clean 10.4.10 SuperDuper backup. Finally, Software Update ran and installed one update that I don't recall, then an update to the Keychain. And that's where the fun began.

Here's just a short list of the problems I encountered:

* Login account reset to Standard, instead of Admin