Ultra-portable Apple notebook to splash down at Macworld Expo

Comments

• Reply 161 of 295
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,510member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by mcarling View Post

Nothing new in the article. I put a 130MB SSDD in a Libretto in 1999 or 2000, so I have some experience with SSDDs in laptops.

Prices drop. SSDD prices are dropping fast.

Actually, everything in the article is new.

These prices will drop at about the same speed as HDD prices, not much faster.
  • Reply 162 of 295
    mcarlingmcarling Posts: 1,106member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by melgross View Post

These prices will drop at about the same speed as HDD prices, not much faster.

Prices of solid-state devices drop much faster than prices of electro-mechanical devices. I can remember when RAM cost $1/byte. It's now close to $0.01 per Mbyte. That's 8 orders of magnitude in about 30 years. By contrast, the earliest winchester drives cost $1/Kbyte. Now they cost about $1/Gbyte. That's only 6 orders of magnitude in about the same time. In other words, RAM now costs 1% of what it used to priced in hard drives. The same has been happening with SSDDs since I first bought one 8 years ago.

In several years the price per GB for SSDDs and HDDs will cross over and that will be the end of spinning hard disks. The idea of putting a 1" hard drive in a camera or phone is already dead. Laptops will be next, then desktops and servers. In 2008, SSDDs in laptops will be just BTO options. In 2009, they will be mainstream. By 2010, it will be difficult to find a new laptop with a HDD as all the new designs will have the SSDD integrated on the motherboard.
  • Reply 163 of 295
    kolchakkolchak Posts: 1,398member
    Announced yesterday by Sandisk:

Quote: