Apple releases firmware fix for freezing aluminum iMacs

13»

Comments

• Reply 41 of 53
    Hmm, so I guess the iMac wont be updated, anyone know when will Apple update the iMac line? January 08?

Oh yeah and so far they are no freezing issues? Thats good to hear
  • Reply 42 of 53
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by teckstud View Post

Wrong. It's in and part of an Apple product.

Is GM responsible for airbags that don't inflate or the airbag manufacturer? You better believe GM is responsible. It obviously wasn't tested properly. Apple's fault.

You are absolutely correct. It (the ATI part) is part of the Apple product. Apple selected the vendor, tested the part, accepted the part.

As a design engineer I have worked with Japanese customers for several years. I can tell you that they never accept a wimpy excuse about the problem in MY product having been the fault of one of my vendors. It is my product, and I (alone) am responsible for its performance. End of story.

Having said all that, I haven't read anything about Apple complaining that it is the fault of ATI. As a new Mac used I feel that Apple did the responsible thing and provided a fix in a pretty reasonable timeframe. So far . . . . I am happy with Apple's support.
  • Reply 43 of 53
    Well, seems like my iMac isn't one of those that need the update. I had it running under Tiger for 1 day with no freezing, then the last few days under Leopard with no freezing. There is a sticker on the shipping carton that says "09/09/07", so i guess it is not a brand new iMac and it has been in a storage for a while...
  • Reply 44 of 53
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by mdriftmeyer View Post

I imagine the whole design issue will have to be addressed with LEDs and OLED displays in the near future.

The whole thinner is better is a silly marketing ploy.

Stable, cooler and quieter is best.

I spend my day looking at the screen not checking its depth.